First, I’m going to apologize to y’all. I don’t know why I didn’t think of this sooner. Blame it on the brain damage and memory loss.

Back in 2014 I became aware of Ebates for online coupons and shopping. I have used it ever since and gotten some sweet coupons and rebate cash just for doing what I normally do – shop online.

Since then a lot of changes have taken place, including the name of the company, which is now Rakuten.

I know.

I agree.

Ebates was much better, but whatever. Ya still get coupons and rebates, so it’s all good.

You can get a check mailed to you or you can get a deposit in your PayPal account. For me, it’s PayPal all the way, baby. I like getting paid FAST.

One of the best ways to work with it is to install the app on your devices. It can be a little annoying when it keeps popping up, even after you dismiss it, but it IS a good reminder that you are at a site that works with it.

You can also go to the Rakuten website and see the list of all the participating retailers. You can shop at them via the site, as well.

It used to be that you had to accumulate a huge amount by each quarterly payout period (I think it ws $50) to get paid. Now you just have to get more than $5 by each quarterly payout period and then you get paid. *WOOT*

The payout periods are:
Jan 1 – Mar 31 = Paid May 15
Apr 1 – June 30 = Paid Aug 15
July 1 – Sept 30 = Paid Nov 15
Oct 1 – Dec 31 = Paid Feb 15

With the pandemic, more and more shopping online has been required of us all. Ergo I should have thought of this before. Sorry. Really.

But, some places are still in lockdown or going back into it. And some people have discovered the joy and ease of online shopping. Why ruin a good thing?

So, better late than never.

If you want to sign up with Rakuten, here is a special link: http://rakuten.com/r/MSKARA24

It’s a link that will pay both of us for you joining for free and just doing what you normally do. No charge to you. You just do your thing and when you spend $25 online at a participating retailer, we both get a bonus! Win-Win! Gotta love that! [*one time only]

It’s a bonus you get AND it’s a great additional way to help support me and my work (and it doesn’t cost you a thing). I’ll also put a widget in the sidebar for future reference if you want to do it later and don’t want to dig for this post.

So, happy shopping and may you get many, many big ebate checks!

-Kara



Leave a comment